Over the last week – I have been trying to clean up my files and delete any non-essential email in order to tidy everything up. After deleting a number of files – I noticed my quota within Google Drive was still showing the same percent full before and after I deleted the files.
After waiting a few days and still not seeing any change in the size in the Google quota – I decided I needed to take some further action. I then realized – that when you delete files in your Google Drive – you then need to “empty the trash” before the files are actually gone.
How to empty the trash:
- Log into Google Drive
- Click on the trash icon in the left sidebar
- At the top of the page – you will now see a Trash menu. Click on that and then choose “Empty Trash”
After you are all done emptying the trash – check out your newly updated storage quota.